IAPMO Concludes Its 93rd Annual Education and Business Conference

International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) 93rd annual Education and Business ConferenceThe International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) last week conducted its 93rd annual Education and Business Conference, the association’s first in-person conference since 2019, at the Sheraton Charlotte Hotel.

David Gans, Chief Building Official, Oceanside, California, was reelected President and Steve Panelli, Chief Plumbing Inspector, city and county of San Francisco, was reelected Vice President. Rex Crawford, retired Chief Plumbing Inspector, Lincoln, Nebraska, will serve as Secretary; Rick Moreno, Astro Mechanical Contractors President, will serve as Director at Large, Contractor; Steve Fernlund, St. Paul, Minnesota, Plumbing Inspector, Keith Bonenfant, California Department of General Services Plumbing and Mechanical Inspector; and Allen Becker, Combination Plans Examiner III, Henderson, Nevada, will serve as District Directors.

Larry Batson, Business Agent from UA Local 421 in Charleston, South Carolina, served as conference host and Perry “Skip” Howard, Local 421 retired Business Manager, served as conference chair.

During the conference’s Association Technical Meeting Convention, membership votes produced a total of 26 successful motions for the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) and Uniform Mechanical Code (UMC). Successful motions for the UPC included provisions for soap dispensers, adult changing stations, beverage dispensers, material standards for building supply, and professional qualifications. Successful motions for the UMC included various listings for equipment and appliances, refrigeration systems, an update to referenced standards, provisions for shutdown and reopening of buildings, and professional qualifications.

In accordance with Section 4-6 of the IAPMO code development regulations, an amendment recommended by the association shall be submitted to ballot of the responsible technical committee (TC). Approval is determined by two-thirds affirmative vote by the responsible TC. If the association recommended amendment is not approved by the TC, the issue is automatically docketed as an appeal to the IAPMO Standards Council to be heard on November 16. Successful motions made during the meeting will be available at iapmo.org/code-development.

The conference was sponsored by Western States Pipe Trades, UA Plumbers 78, Southern California Pipe Trades District Council 16, NITC, Watts, Cast Iron Soil Pipe Institute, IAPMO California Central Chapter, IAPMO R&T, UA Local 230, ASPE, American Water Works Association, PHCC, and IAPMO Southern Nevada Chapter.

Winners of the 12th IWSH Scholarship Essay Competition were announced. First prize was awarded to Chantal Cheung, Queen’s University, Ontario, Canada, and three runners-up were Sofia Lang, McGill University, Alberta, Canada; Callie Lowery, Mercer University, Macon, Georgia; and Wyatt Snyder, University of Indiana, Bloomington.

IAPMO’s 94th annual Education and Business Conference will be held in San Antonio, September 24–28, 2023.

Source: IAPMO

Want news delivered right to your inbox?

Sign up for our free newsletter, delivered every other Thursday.

Scroll to Top