Get to Know Delbert Smith Jr.

We are pleased to introduce the next featured member in our Get to Know initiative: Delbert Smith Jr., PE, a member of the Connecticut Chapter.

ASPE: What is your greatest accomplishment outside of your career?
Del: Earning my black belt in karate.

ASPE: What is your favorite animal? Why?
Del: Otters! They always look like they are having fun, no matter what they are doing.

ASPE: What are your hobbies outside of work?
Del: Surfing, skiing, and tabletop role-playing games.

ASPE: Do you have a favorite vacation spot? Where is it and why do you keep going back?
Del: Surf City, Long Beach Island, New Jersey. I grew up spending my summers there with family and friends.  The spot is intrinsically linked to so many happy memories. It is one of the few places where I can completely relax.

ASPE: What is your favorite meal? Is it prepared at home or found at a restaurant? 
Del: Duck a-l’orange. I’ve had homemade and from restaurants. I think my mom made it best.

ASPE: Are you a movie buff? What is your favorite movie? 
Del: I’m definitely a movie fan, although “movie buff” might be a stretch. One of my favorite movies is The Princess Bride.

ASPE: What did you want to be when you were a child?
Del: I remember wanting to be a marine biologist or oceanographer. Those are the last two things I remember wanting to be before I ended up pursuing engineering.

ASPE: If you were a super-hero, what powers would you have?
Del: Super speed. I think that is probably one of the most flexible of all super powers and would let you do a lot.

Share this with your peers:
Scroll to Top