ASPE Members Are Among Those Recognized with SFPE’s Highest Honors

Gilles Carrier, T.P., FSFPE, and Samuel Dannaway, PE, FSFPEThe Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), the world’s leading professional society for fire protection and fire safety engineering, announces its 2023 class of Fellows and award recipients, and ASPE members Gilles Carrier, T.P., FSFPE, and Samuel Dannaway, PE, FSFPE, were among those honored.

Fellow membership represents the highest professional honor of SFPE and is bestowed to individuals who have amassed significant accomplishments and stature in fire protection engineering. SFPE members elevated to the status of Fellow in 2023 include:

  • Traci Bangor, PE, FSFPE
  • Tracey D. Bellamy, PE, CFPS, CWBSP, FSFPE
  • Kees Both, FSFPE
  • Gilles Carrier, T.P., FSFPE
  • Flora F. Chen, FSFPE
  • John Durante, PE, ARM, FSFPE
  • Joshua Greene, PE, FSFPE
  • Moriel Kaplan, PE, FSFPE

The SFPE “5 Under 35” recipients represent the industry’s top rising leaders who give back to both the fire protection engineering profession and the community. The 2023 recipients are as follows:

  • Christopher Crivello, PE
  • William N. Fletcher, PE
  • Christopher Hallock, PE
  • Jens Steemann Kristensen, PhD
  • Ankit Sharma, PhD

Additionally, SFPE is pleased to announce 10 award recipients in 2023, as follows:

  • Kerry M. Bell, PE, recipient of the SFPE Trailblazer Award
  • Kees Both, FSFPE, recipient of the SFPE Lund Award for Professional Recognition
  • Tom Christman, recipient of the SFPE Lucht Award for Contributions to Education
  • Michael A. Crowley, PE, FSFPE, FASHE, recipient of the SFPE Nelson Award for Inspired Service
  • Samuel Dannaway, PE, FSFPE, recipient of the SFPE Bryan Mentoring Award
  • Joshua Greene, PE recipient of the SFPE Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service
  • Keith Lunsford, recipient of the SPFE Spotlight Award
  • Lori Moore-Merrell, PhD, recipient of the SFPE Fire Protection Person of the Year Award
  • Craig Vesely, recipient of the SPFE Spotlight Award
  • David Vickers, B.Sc., CET, CFPS, RHFAC Professional, recipient of the SPFE Spotlight Award

“Each year, we honor SFPE members who have made significant accomplishments to our profession and Society. Their contributions have profoundly impacted the science and technology that reduces global fire risk,” stated Chris Jelenewicz, PE, FSFPE, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Society of Fire Protection Engineers. “We are grateful for their leadership and commitment to SFPE and the fire protection engineering profession.”

The awards will be presented by Jimmy Jönsson, FSFPE, President, SFPE, during the SFPE Annual Conference & Expo in Washington D.C./Bethesda on October 8–12, 2023; registration for the conference is available at Nominations for the Society’s 2024 class of Fellows and award recipients will be solicited in early 2024.

Source: Society of Fire Protection Engineers

Scroll to Top